Karnataka Govt Formation LIVE: Don’t Need 15 Days, Will Prove Majority Soon, Says Yeddyurappa

Event Highlights

Voices against BJP coming to power in Karnataka despite fractured mandate raise in other states as well. From Mayawati to Akhilesh Yadav and now DMK’s working president M K Stalin have slammed B S Yeddyurappa for taking oath as Karnataka chief minister. While Mayawati called it “destruction of Constitution and Akhilesh termed the move as “death of freedom”, Stalin said, “All of us saw how PM Modi misused the office of Governor in Tamil Nadu. The same has been done in Karnataka. This is totally against democracy and rule of law. We condemn it.” Meanwhile, in the wake of allegations that BJP is “trying to buy JD(S) MLAs”, Telangana and Andhra Pradesh chief ministers have offered shelter to JD(S) legislators. According to sources, Congress MLAs are also likely to shift to Kerala as Left front government has promised them security. Amid drama, chief minister B S Yeddyurappa holds cabinet meeting and promises to announce farm loan waiver of Rs 1 lakh. Yeddyurappa, who had released BJP’s manifesto in Bengaluru last month, declared that the decision on loan waiver would be taken in the very first Cabinet meeting if voted to power. Meanwhile, senior Congress leaders, including Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ashok Gehlot and Siddaramaiah, are protesting at Vidhan Soudha against B S Yeddyurappa’s swearing-in as 23rd chief minister of Karnataka. JD(S) leaders will join the protest in a few minutes from now. Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath to Yeddyurappa on Thursday even as none of the council of ministers were sworn in. In a rare pre-dawn hearing, Supreme Court refused to stop BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa’s swearing-in as Karnataka Chief Minister. The apex court has posted the matter for hearing on Friday. The court has asked that the letter given by Yeddyurappa and senior BJP leaders to the Governor in which it was stated that the party has the requisite number of MLAs to form the government be produced before the court. During the overnight hearing by the three-judge bench, comprising justices A K Sikri, S A Bobde and Ashok Bhushan, the letter of support from majority of MLAs submitted to the governor for forming the government had become a major sticking point.

Read More

Load More


if (simplifiedpath[‘type’] != ‘article’) {
displaytext += hTitle;
} else {
displaytext += ‘‘ + hTitle + ‘‘;
if (simplifiedpath[‘type’] == ‘article’) {
displaytext += ‘http://www.news18.com/‘ + simplifiedpostpath[‘content’];
} else {
displaytext += simplifiedpostpath[‘content’] ;

if ((simplifiedpath[‘type’] == ‘video”http://www.news18.com/”http://www.news18.com/” simplifiedpath[‘type’] == ‘twitter’) && simplifiedpostpath[‘data_type’] == ’embedded’) {
displaytext += simplifiedpostpath[‘source’];
} else if (simplifiedpath[‘type’] == ‘video’ && simplifiedpostpath[‘data_type’] == ‘url’) {
displaytext += ‘Check the Video at ‘ + simplifiedpostpath[‘source’] + ‘‘;
} else if (simplifiedpostpath[‘image_path’] != “http://www.news18.com/” && simplifiedpath[‘type’] == ‘image’) {
displaytext += ‘http://www.news18.com/‘;
displaytext += “http://www.news18.com/”;
displaytext += ‘


if(data[‘data’].lengthLOAD MORE‘;

//$(‘.traking_list’).stop().animate({ scrollTop: $(“.traking_list”)[0].scrollHeight}, 800);
}else if(direction==’next’){
if(data[‘data’]== null){
alert(“No more data”);

function ltrimJavaScript(char, str) {
if (str.slice(0, char.length) === char) {
return str.slice(char.length);
} else {
return str;

function liveBlogTimeParse(str) {
if(!/^(d){14}$/.test(str)) return “http://www.news18.com/”;
var y = str.substr(0,4),
m = str.substr(4,2) – 1,
d = str.substr(6,2),
h = str.substr(8,2),
i = str.substr(10,2),
s = str.substr(12,2);
return new Date(y,m,d,h,i,s);

function getMonthNameByIndex( month_index ) {
var months = [‘January’, ‘February’, ‘March’, ‘April’, ‘May’, ‘June’, ‘July’, ‘August’, ‘September’, ‘October’, ‘November’, ‘December’];
if( month_index >= 0 && month_index = 12 ? ‘pm’ : ‘am’;
hours = hours % 12;
hours = hours ? hours : 12; // the hour ‘0’ should be ’12’
minutes = minutes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *